07/13/17  Rural Teachers Of The Year Named


The Electric Co-ops of Arkansas and Arkansas Rural Education Association recently named Leonda Holtoff of the Star City School District and Marilyn Pangle of the Yellville-Summit School District as the 2017 Arkansas Rural Teachers of the year.

Holtoff is an upper level science teacher at the Star City School District. She's also taught at Watson Chapel, Dumas and Monticello in content ranging from English, math, science and techology.

Pangle is a third-grade teacher at Yellville-Summit where she has taught since 1999.

The Rural Teacher of the Year Award winner is selected based on the quality and depth of answers to questions in the following categories, professional biography, educational history, professional development, community involvement, teaching philosophy, education issues and the teaching profession.