05/22/17  Arkansas Click It Or Ticket Campaign Cranks Up Today


State, county and city law enforcement officers will begin devoting additional patrols today through June 4 as part of the “Click It or Ticket” seat belt enforcement campaign.

According to the National Highway Traffic Safety Administration, almost half of the drivers and passengers killed in vehicle crashes during 2015 were not wearing a seat belts. The percentage of fatalities in this category increases during the nighttime hours. Arkansas state law requires all front seat passengers, no just drivers, to buckle up.

The law requires all children, under 15 years of age, to be properly secured in the vehicle. A child who's less than 6 years of age and who weighs less than sixty pounds, is required to be restrained in a child passenger safety seat. If the driver has a restricted license, all passengers in the vehicle must be properly buckled up.